A Breastfeeding Advocate in my Husband

Just a few days ago, Joey and I had a chance to have dinner with other couples we recently met at church. As we were in the middle of our discussion about our blessings, struggles, and life, in general, Matilda asked for mommy’s milk. Suddenly, our topic shifted to breastfeeding.

Ever since I attended Arugaan’s Peer Counselor Training conducted by Ms. Velvet Escario-Roxas, I never looked at breastmilk and breastfeeding the same way again. Having the chance to share all the information I have learned to Joey, he also became even more convinced to help me succeed on my own breastfeeding journey.

As he was talking about the benefits of breastfeeding and dangers of formula milk feeding, I couldn’t help but marvel at his confidence and knowledge in this area. I made an advocate of breastfeeding through my very own husband! And I just thought, wow! This is such a blessing! In my head, I felt like crying.

I got a bit lost in the conversation as I looked back on how Joey played a very important role in making this possible. I just feel so blessed to have him as my main supporter. The early days were much of a challenge, but I could have never gone through those difficult days (and nights!) without his help.

Having been through a tough labor and delivery, I was physically and mentally exhausted. I also had problems with Matilda’s latch and in keeping her awake through the course of feeding. I cried numerous times (alone and along with Matilda) and for once, I  just wanted to give up. But, Joey, such a great husband he is, kept encouraging me and reminding me of all the reasons why we are doing this in the first place.

Whenever I would feel so stressed, he would offer to carry Matilda and just rock her a bit to relax and stop her from crying. He would offer to take care of her as he would let me sleep without having to worry if Matilda is okay. Joey also cooked nutritious food for me like my favorite, Beef Nilaga, with plenty of soup, to help in boosting my milk supply. Those are just some of the things he did in the early days as I was still recovering from the birth of our child.

Even though some people tend to overlook the fact, that husbands play a major role in breastfeeding success, I would like everyone to know that a little support from them can go a long way. Just for one, if Joey hadn’t been as open to the idea of breastfeeding in public, we (Matilda and I) would have struggled way too much, since we were out a lot. Finding a place to feed discreetly was never an option, because he approved of feeding anytime, anywhere. He is indeed very proud of me and I feel that every time we needed to sit down (or sometimes stand!) to put Matilda to the breast.

Joey, from time to time, would also share stories about him discussing with his officemates and friends on how much we save and how great it is to have a fully breastfed child. He would often cite examples like how convenient it is to travel without needing to worry about sterilizing bottles and what not. And also, how he doesn’t need to get up at night to prepare milk.

I never in my wildest dreams thought that Joey would take all these things to heart. That in those conversations I thought he wasn’t listening, he actually was! And now, hearing him talk about it with so much enthusiasm is just wonderful. I feel like he would make an impact in the lives of people and that’s what makes him an advocate. Indeed, I didn’t waste any of my time bringing him to my trainings, classes, and just talking to him about these things.

I am one proud wife to this man right here!

10600606_10203815723627451_6659593152493810512_n

Leave a Reply

