Extraordinary Sunday

Two Sundays ago was one of my not-your-kind-of-day, day. To give you a brief background of our usual Sunday, we are at church (CCF – Christ’s Commission Fellowship) the whole day. We start at around 10:45 by attending our GLC (Global Leadership Center) class, followed by a 12 noon service, that ends at about 1:30, and then a Discipleship group, or a Bible Study at 3-5pm.

So you see, our Sundays are mainly for Church activities and we are very much happy to be part in all that. Happy as I am, it is quite a challenge to do all these with an active toddler. I try with my very best to keep her busy, but, sometimes it is a bit exhausting to keep her from roaming around or playing with other kids. I’m kind of used to it though, except that Sunday, it was particularly different.

We left a bit earlier to pick up breakfast before heading to church. I got pancakes for Matilda and a burger for me. She ate one pancake during our class and she was well-behaved throughout the session. When the class was about to end, she began being a bit more “clingy”. In fact, she was very “clingy” and somewhat sleepy. I even noticed that she was closing her eyes while standing up and clutching onto my thighs. At first, I was on the impression she was sleepy because we kind of slept late the night before. So, I breastfed her and she then fell asleep. – This was the beginning of an EPIC day.

On the way to the up the worship hall, Joey noticed that Matilda was missing her other pair of shoe. One of her favorites! So we asked the guard to please inform us if someone would surrender it. Joey also volunteered to go back down and try to search for it just until we are settled on our seat. Before entering the hall though, our friends from GLC, Paul and Aish, handed it over to us. Whew! I felt so relieved! Apparently, someone approached them with the shoe, and they followed us going up.

Before finally entering the hall, Matilda woke up from her nap. She was asleep for about 30 minutes only, and not her usual 2 hour nap. I thought it was just because of the sound of the worship songs that woke her, to my surprise, I was so wrong.

As we were already seated, while the announcements were being given, Matilda started vomiting. It wasn’t the usual one-time vomit, but several episodes with lots and lots of liquid. She vomited on herself, on the chair, on my hair, chest and practically my entire body. She didn’t look bothered, though I knew she wasn’t feeling okay. I rushed her to the nearest washroom and started cleaning her up without even looking at how much vomit she expelled onto me. I was busy making sure I had her cleaned well because I didn’t want her soaked in a very sour smell – (….eww).

After I finished cleaning her up, I handed her to Joey so I can look at myself. My oh my, my top was all wet including the tips of my hair. I then realized I catched most of it. I smelled terrible and my hair was a mess. I didn’t bring any extra shirt – which I know I should have! So I decided I’d buy a shirt later after the service. I cleaned up myself (quickly) just to catch up on the ongoing service.

As soon as I finished cleaning up, Matilda told me, “Mommy, Matilda (Matata) poopoo. Mommy, hug.” And then I knew she was really feeling upset. I attended to her and allowed her to finish before I cleaned her up. After which, finally, she was settled and ready to go back to the service.

When the service was about to end, Matilda started being uneasy (again), and began passing gas. I knew that she was about to poop again and so I brought her to the back to find a spot where she can do her business. While walking around waiting for her to finish, I suddenly noticed the ribbon on my shoe has gone missing. I tried searching and I saw it was lying on the floor. (Insert music: cause you had a bad day…)

Can you imagine what I was feeling at this point? And to think that was just around 1pm? I was already exhausted. I felt so smelly and dirty. I was also hungry and to top it all off, Matilda’s condition concerned me. But even though all these things troubled me, I focused on this verse – Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus. (‭1 Thessalonians‬ ‭5‬:‭18‬ NLT)

I had to remind myself that every single thing that happens in our lives has a purpose. It is all part of God’s plan and it is always for the good of those who love Him, as also said in Romans 8:28. What good came out of it? I got to buy a new shirt! Yay! And because Matilda just had a short nap, she was asleep during our bible study – which helped me focus on our very meaty topic about the End Times. I believe this was His purpose, apart from the fact that He wanted to strengthen my faith in Him. I just prayed that He would please heal Matilda and the rest, we just lift and surrender to Him.

Matilda woke up 2 hours after, as if nothing had happened. She even ate a lot and played around for a bit. She even joined kids thrice her age as if she was a big girl! Who would have thought of our incident that morning? My baby girl was such a sport! I think God also made me realize that I should be really thankful that Matilda is an active toddler because if not, I’d be worried all the time thinking she is probably sick! And that I should really stop saying, “Ang likot na ni Matilda!”. What a wake-up call that is! As for my shoe, Joey promised to fix it. 🙂 It was a good Sunday, indeed! Thank you, Lord!

IMG_7380

 

2 thoughts on “Extraordinary Sunday

    • Hi Gwynna,

      Thanks for dropping by and for your kind words. 🙂 Hoping to share Jesus to as many people as I can through the blog, and also wish to meet people like you along the way. If you happen to see me at CCF please do say Hi! 🙂 To Him be all the glory!

Leave a Reply

