The Truth About Having Kids

I have never been more tired physically, than I am, right now that I have a 1 year old toddler and a 4 year old preschooler.

My day is basically all about running around the house making sure my youngest, Mileina, doesn’t get bruised by practicing how to run. Yes, before she even mastered walking, she already started running, which is terrifying! (If you know what I mean).

I am tired.

Sometimes all I want to do is play with Matilda, my eldest. I just want to have quiet conversations with her, without a toddler who keeps on pulling up my shirt wanting to breastfeed, in between her walk-a-thon.

I am tired.

I just want to drink a cup of coffee while it’s hot and not forget about it, because I need to assist my children with their trips to the bathroom.

I am tired.

I would like to enjoy my meals uninterrupted by food that is falling, and water that keeps on spilling everywhere.

I am tired.

There are so many things I want to organize for homeschooling, that I just cannot finish, moreso, even begin. Did I say homeschooling? Yes, add in our daily lessons too!

I am tired.

I just want to lie down, have my quiet time, read my Bible, also a good book too, take a very nice long bath, get a straight 6-8 hour of solid sleep, not minding what time I should wake up in the morning.

My body is tired. My back feels like breaking. My arms are sore from all the carrying. Physically, my body might be at one of its weakest, in terms of its condition, but you know what? My heart is happy. My heart is full of JOY.

I am happy.

For when I look at the miracle of having my children, I am reminded of how God has been so gracious to me and Joey for entrusting to us the lives of our children.

I am happy.

For all the milestones I am able to see with each of them, it validates that I am doing something right.

I am happy.

For as young as 4 years old, Matilda understands who Jesus is and what He has done for us sinners, that He chose to bear our sins and die on our behalf, so that we can be saved.

I am happy.

For all the hugs and kisses I get to have every moment of every day.

I am really happy.

These are just some of the things that go through my mind, as I think about what my life is like, now that I have two kids. It’s not an easy job taking care of one, let alone two of them. Motherhood, after all, is about teaching them, disciplining them and most of all, discipling them. Sometimes, it just really takes it toll on my body. Don’t get me wrong though, I am not tired of having kids, there are just times I get physically exhausted with all the things I do for them every day. There are days wherein they do cooperate more than the usual, you know? And those days are VERY precious to me.

In the most challenging times of parenting, I am reminded and comforted by this verse,

“Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb a reward.” ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭127:3‬ ‭ESV‬‬

No matter how tired I feel I am at times, never will I wish it any other way, for the amount of joy my children bring into my life is truly incomparable. So, to say that I am happy is an understatement. In fact, I have never been happier!! Thank you Lord, for the blessing of having children!

Leave a Reply

